California Boater Card
On January 1, 2018, California began implementing a new law that boaters are required to carry a vessel operator card while operating a recreational motorized vessel on California waterways, known as the California Boater Card.
What is the California Boater Card?
The California Boater Card shows that its holder has successfully taken and passed a NASBLA/state-approved boater safety education examination. In 2018, the California Boater Card program will be phased-in by age for operators of motorized boats on state waterways.
Boaters have the option of taking online courses to obtain their boaters card, however these online courses do not provide the “hands-on” instruction required to teach boaters the national skill-based standards on how to safely operate motor vessels.
Ready to get started? Drop Us a Line!
Yachts4Fun offers US Powerboating Courses
Yachts4Fun’s Los Angeles Powerboat Academy located in Marina del Rey, CA. is a “US Powerboating” course provider and the Basic Powerboat Cruising certification is an approved course by the Sate of California and the National State of Boating Law Administrators.
Our Basic Powerboat Cruising course is a 12-hour program that includes certified instructor aboard our 40’ Cruisers Yacht. US Powerboat certification has proven to be the best on-the-water powerboat instruction available and students begin with the Basic Powerboat Cruising certification course learning basic maneuvers, then move to advanced exercises on the Night Operations and Inshore certification courses.
How to obtain the California Boater Card
Note that the US Powerboating certificate does not take the place of the California Boater Card. Boaters are required to submit their US Powerboating certificate to the Department of Boating and Waterways to obtain their California Boater Card. After successful completion of your US Powerboat course, apply for the California Boater Card following this link: http://californiaboatercard.com/applynow/.
For more information, visit http://californiaboatercard.com/
Additional information – “California law states that NO person under 16 years of age may operate a boat with a motor of more than 15 horsepower, except for a sailboat that does not exceed 30 feet in length or a dinghy used directly between a moored boat and the shore (or between two moored boats). The California law allows children 12-15 years of age to operate boats with a motor of more than 15 horsepower or sailboats over 30 feet if supervised on board by an adult at least 18 years of age. Violating these provisions constitutes an infraction.”